Split Pea Soup

Split pea soup. Great for a  dreary, damp April day. But not really recommended when you are on the late shift. ;)

It took a little too long to cook, but it was worth the wait. I used the recipe from 1,000 Vegan Recipes, which I LOVE so far.

It was pretty easy to assemble, and then you just have to suffer through waiting for it to be done simmering. First thing, measure out some dry split peas, either half yellow and half green or all of the same. The recipe says 8 oz. of each. I have no idea how much 8 oz was so I weighed a cup of peas and 1 cup came to just about 8 oz., so I used 2 cups of split peas.

Then, chop up a medium sized onion, a carrot, and a celery stalk. Or more carrot if you are out of celery like I was. Heat up some oil in your soup pot and add the carrots and onions to soften. I also set some water to boil to make 2 cups of broth as part of the 7 cups of water/broth the recipe calls for.

carrots and onions

While the vegetables were softening, I chopped up some potatoes. I used four small russet potatoes, skin on. Then add the potatoes to the pot plus one bay leaf.

potatoes carrots onions

When the broth is ready, if you are using, add it along with water. You’ll add 7 cups of broth and/or water or any combination you like. Let it come to a simmer and turn the heat down. Let it simmer until it becomes creamy. The recipe suggests an hour, but I think ours took longer. Ours also seemed to be a little on the thin side, but I was so hungry I didn’t care. It’s not the most photogenic soup.

split pea soup in the pot

But I dressed it up a little with some homemade bread (boule recipe baked in a loaf pan) and salt and pepper.

two bowls split peaone split pea and bread

And then we slurped it up. Manny is not amused with the lack of cauliflower on the menu these days.

split pea Manny

22 thoughts on “Split Pea Soup

  1. Absolutely love pea soup! I usually use my crock pot for split pea soup–split peas and lentils do not need the long soak, and so react well in the crockpot, and I can have dinner ready when I get home. I just chop garlic, onion and celery (I like a lot of celery) the night before, and the morning of the soup put it all in the crock with broth and about 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme–I haven’t tried bay leaf. I stir it once before leaving in the morning, and let it cook on low all day. Stir it again when I get home in the evening–usually mine is too thick, so I adjust the thickness with more broth or water, and add salt and pepper to taste. I love this with garlic bread.

  2. I want to make this too! I don’t think I’ve ever had split pea soup with potato chunks in it. Split pea soup is probably never photogenic.
    Poor manny. Look at that face. He’s so cute.

  3. Your soup looks and sounds great. Your Nana always made pea soup with a ham bone and I never really liked it. I think I would really like yours! By the way, don’t you remember “pints a pound the world around” and a pint is 16 oz. I think you should keep some cauliflower on hand just for Manny–he looks quite dejected.

  4. There are 8 ounces in a cup for liquids but solids will vary. Obviously a cup of rocks will weigh more than 8 ounces and a cup of styrofoam will weight less than 8 ounces.

    • lol…i think this is why i’ve always gotten confused about dry measurements. anyway, thankfully i have a food scale here, antiquated as it is. it can at least weigh things that are 8 oz or more. ;)

      • Yeah, a scale is probably easier than doing math. It’s interesting that you got a different result than me though. You have heavy split peas or your scale is a little TOO antiquated or my split pea manufacturer lies on their bags. :-)

      • I am wondering if I should have used more peas because the soup seemed thin. I should invest in a digital scale for sure. The scale I have was my mom’s mom’s and maybe even her mom’s…mom do you know how old that scale is?

        Sent from marieke’s robotic agent.

  5. My 16 oz bag of split peas has 10 servings so that means one serving is 1.6 ounces. It says a serving is 1/4 cup, therefore 1 cup is 6.4 ounces. My brown lentils weigh less. they have 14 of the same size servings in the same weight bag instead of 10.

  6. I have been trying to think whose scale it was originally And I think it was my Nana’s which would be your great-grandmother’s so it is pretty old.

Leave a Reply

