The Sunday Snack I’m Still Enjoying

image

I’ve been reading Maman’s Homesick Pie, the memoir of Donia Bijan, who is a French-trained chef of Iranian origins. She has a website and you can read about the book here.

At the end of each chapter are a couple of recipes. I decided I had to make her Orange Cardamom Cookies right away. Except I replaced the butter and the egg yolk.

You’ll need

8oz Earth Balance margarine (or unsalted butter or other butter substitute of your choice)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tbs ground flax seed+3 tbs water (or 1 egg yolk or other suitable egg substitute)

grated zest of two oranges

2 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 tbs poppy seeds

parchment paper

I used my electric mixer to beat the margarine (I let it soften for a bit) for about two minutes and then added the sugar. After I blended those nicely, I dropped my “egg” and orange zest and beat those into the butter mixture. In a separate bowl I combined the dry ingredients, and then folded them into the butter mixture. Once I had incorporated it, I formed the dough into two pudgy logs on parchment paper, wrapped them up, and chilled them in the refrigerator for a half hour.

I preheated the oven to 350 degrees

When the cookie dough was finished chilling, I used a sharp knife to cut 1/2-inch (or thereabouts) rounds and arranged them on the parchment paper on a cookie sheet. They baked for 15 minutes.

IMG_2398

I let them cool very briefly. I couldn’t wait to eat them. They were delicious! And they were especially delicious dipped in the soy milk froth of my Sunday afternoon cappuccino.  IMG_2399

3 thoughts on “The Sunday Snack I’m Still Enjoying

  1. Yum! I’d have to substitute for the sugar, but I think that’s all. I adore cardamom; it’s a spice I was raised on.

Leave a Reply

