Happy (not belated) Easter!

Just a quick post to wish everyone (who celebrates) a happy Easter. And to ask Spring, “WHERE ARE YOU?” We’ve had Nowruz, Passover, Holi, Vernal Equinox, now Easter and well, um, it’s still rather chilly…

IMG_2432IMG_2434

 

 

 

I saw this amazing looking carrot cake over at An Ode to Mung Beans and had to make it. However, I didn’t have any raisins, so I used cranberries instead. And I am in the U.S., so I set my oven to 350-degrees. I made the cake yesterday and iced it today. Also I couldn’t find my springform pan so I used a 9×13 inch pan instead, which meant I baked it for about 40 minutes. I ended up cutting the cake and half and making two layers.

IMG_2435IMG_2437

When I went to make the icing this morning, I realized I didn’t have any lemon extract…so I looked online for other vegan icings, but nothing was as exciting to make as this one. I made a quick trip to the store to fix that and made this amazing icing. I was very happy to lick the bowl. It’s hard to see, but I sprinkled some coconut on the icing, and then grated some lemon zest directly onto the cake. I thought it was delicious.
IMG_2452

Apologies for wacky formatting. I’m not sure what the problem is. Maybe I’ll fix it sometime.

10 thoughts on “Happy (not belated) Easter!

    • yikes. lol. the “butter” i use is an excellent substitute, but i am just skeptical it would work for something so butter dependent. but maybe i should experiment. mmmm lemon….

  1. Oh my goodness this looks amazing!! So happy that it worked out and I love the way you decorated it. The more zest the better I say! Thanks for the mention 🙂 🙂

    • I brought half of it to work and it has already vanished. A couple of people have stopped by my office and were really surprised it is vegan. “you don’t even miss it [the dairy]! and how did you make that icing?” that is my new favorite icing, btw. 🙂

      • Amazing!! That makes me so happy 🙂 It’s great to get feedback from people other than my boyfriend! I wish I had an office I could take my cakes to so i wouldn’t be a pig and eat them all myself hahaha

      • maybe you should deliver to an office near you…i think they need it! so my vegan colleague told me it was the best carrot cake she ever had (incidentally she doesn’t like raisins baked in things so she really liked the cranberries) and she could tell the recipe did not come from an American because it was not overly sweet lol. and another colleague who loves carrot cake was surprised at the non-cream cheese icing, but he REALLY LIKED IT. he said it totally worked. so when is your cookbook coming out? 😉

  2. hahahaha, man I wish! I’d love to be a cookbook author. I’ve actually being thinking about what a good idea it would be to have a mobile service that goes around to workplaces and offers vegan goodies for lunchs and snacks. We need it here in London! Thank you so much for letting me know what your colleagues thought of the cake – it helps me come up with alterations and also new ideas for other projects! x

  3. Foodtruck! yes! they are so popular here. My office isn’t in a super central area so they don’t come over by us everyday, but they do on Thursdays and many of my colleagues go over to where they are parked to get lunch. I saw on tv a story about an American studying in Paris and she established a hamburger truck (of all things!) there and it ended up being a big hit, so maybe you are on to something. 😉
    I will get your cookbook when you publish it! 🙂 So far I think your recipes are straightforward and easy to follow. i can admit i am a bit dense sometimes and have trouble following directions, but i don’t see myself having that problem with your recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

