How to Almost Ruin a Huge Head of Cauliflower

Recently I bough the biggest head of cauliflower I have ever seen. So I knew I would be using it to make a giant pot of Pepin’s Cauliflower Soup, with curry. I decided to make it last night, and since it was Saturday, I had plenty of time during the day to make fresh bread dough for some boule.

imageimage

The bread I make comes from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Dayand even though it definitely takes more than five minutes, it doesn’t require a huge time commitment. I mixed the dough early in the day and let it rise. Late in the day I put it in the refrigerator for about an hour and then took it out when I preheated the oven, pizza stone, and steam pan. The boule rested on a pizza peel while the oven heated up for 20 minutes. Then the bread baked for 30 minutes. While it cooled, I made the soup.

image

I’ve made this soup several times and I’m not sure exactly what went wrong this time, but it came out a little on the thin side. I did add extra water because there was so much cauliflower, but now I’m thinking that was my mistake. Also, I think I should have increased the amount of flour and curry mixture. When I make the leftovers, I will probably do that and also add some potatoes.

The recipe I follow comes from Essential Pepin, a cookbook that is really easy to follow but I’ve only made a few recipes so far.

For the curried cauliflower soup, you’ll be sauteeing a large-ish chopped onion on medium-high heat, then adding 2 tbs flour mixed with 1 tbs curry  (I choose from among the curry mixes I’ve made from 660 Curries), stirring that together really well, then adding 2 cups vegetable stock (Pepin uses chicken) and 2 cups water. Let it come to a boil, then add the chopped cauliflower. Bring it back to a boil, cover, turn the heat down and simmer for 30 minutes or so. When the cauliflower is tender, turn off the heat. Run the soup through a food processor or blender and return to the pot. Re-warm the soup while stirring a cup of heavy cream into the soup. Garnish with parsley and EAT.

image

Like I said above, this soup came from a particularly huge head of cauliflower. Of course size doesn’t matter to Manny, all he cares about is that it is there. And how could I not “accidentally” knock some on the floor?

imageimage

7 thoughts on “How to Almost Ruin a Huge Head of Cauliflower

  1. I found the basic 5 minute bread recipe on line.. I think it was a Mother Earth article? It is wonderful and easy! I’d like to get the book for additional recipes.

  2. i love the book. they have really great ideas and i don’t think i’ve had one real failure yet. i love making stromboli and pizza and i use their book as my guideline. i also make fresh pita with their dough (in fact, i’ll be doing that later this week when i make Bittman’s falafel). i think it’s great for busy people, as long as you plan ahead. but as long as you plan, you’ll have great meals with amazing fresh bread! you’ll never buy bread again, lol. (the only bread i buy now is bagels)

  3. Pingback: Black Bean Burger Pita Sandwiches | The Kitchen Billets-Doux

Leave a Reply

