Sicily by Phaidon

I just read this amazing new cookbook: Sicily by Phaidon. The editors compiled a really lovely book with a handful of select dishes for the adventurous home cook to try for each region.

image

Since I haven’t cooked anything from it yet, I haven’t reviewed any recipes, but I did post some thoughts about the book at Goodreads.

If you don’t know about Goodreads, readers give books they read star ratings and write reviews. It’s totally subjective. Anyway, I gave Sicily  five stars and my reasons for that are

The five stars is for the beauty of the book; I have yet to actually try making any of the recipes. Once I do, I will revise my review accordingly. However, even if I never make one single recipe, I am so happy I got this book. The pictures are beautiful and I really enjoyed the regional breakdown…a little bit of history, some geography, some climate information, and how all of this has affected food and cooking traditions in Sicily. It’s also fascinating to me how many things from the New World became so critical and embedded in Italian/Sicilian cooking…and I’m not talking about just the tomato! In any case, I recommend this book to anyone who loves food cultures, photography, and especially southern Italian cuisine.

3 thoughts on “Sicily by Phaidon

Leave a Reply

