Not Your Basic Deli Sandwich: Panino con Salsicce e Rapini

Okay vegans…apologies, but now is the time to look away. This has real sausage in it. And I’ll preface this post by saying this little piggy did not live on a CAFO. And that’s as political as it’s going to get. Without further apologizing, may I present one of the best damn sandwiches I’ve ever eaten: Sausage and Broccoli Rabe on freshly baked bread. Unless you already have the bread made, I don’t really recommend this for weeknight cooking, but that’s what we did anyway. We ate late. We did a lot of waiting. We were hungry!

First thing, I set up my dough to rest prior to baking. This was basic boule dough from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.

image

It rested for 40 minutes. During that 40 minutes I formed it into these baguette-y shapes and heated my oven to 450-degrees for 20 minutes, with a baking stone and a broiler tray. After the 20 minute pre-heat I popped those rolls in there and put a cup of hot water into the tray to create steam.

Then we got to work on the sandwich filling. I had three helpers for that. (Those are a pair of man’s legs, not mine)

image

My human helper removed the sausage from their casings and monitored them while they browned in hot olive oil. We chopped them up and flattened the pieces out.

image

I washed and prepared the rapini (broccoli rabe), and then we dumped that on top of the sausage and let it wilt. And we stirred in 1/4 tsp each of kosher salt and red pepper flakes.

image

And as that was done simmering, the bread came out of the oven. After it cooled for a few minutes, I sliced those suckers open.

imageimage

And then I filled them with sausage-y goodness and then, finally, we ate these sandwiches. Wow. Lidia, you are an amazing lady. And thank you to my family for getting me the awesome book this ridiculously simple recipe came from: Lidia’s Italy in America.

imageimage

4 thoughts on “Not Your Basic Deli Sandwich: Panino con Salsicce e Rapini

  1. Pingback: Fresh Leftovers: Sausage, Rapini, and Rigatoni | The Kitchen Billets-Doux

Leave a Reply

