We Don’t Buy Sausage Often, But When We Do

….STROMBOLI  or PIZZA!

I ended up going with stromboli, except I changed my mind midstream and forgot to include the broiler tray when I preheated the oven. Whatever, it’s really not that big of a deal. My crusts just didn’t end up as pretty as they might have.

As long as you have the dough ready, this is not a difficult meal to throw together although it does require some attention to timing. If your dough is cold, take it out of the fridge and let it warm up while you prepare everything else.

Turn on your oven to 500-degrees or 550 if your oven goes that high. Put your pizza stone in there and a broiler tray. When it heats up, set your timer for 20 minutes because you want that stone HOT.

Meanwhile, prepare your fixin’s. First I browned our ground sausage in a little bit of olive oil in a large frying pan and then set it aside in a bowl. While it was browning I chopped up a mound of garlic and gathered together a bunch of fresh basil and oregano.

imageimage

With the sausage set aside, I heated some more olive oil and then threw that garlic in there for a couple of minutes, then I sprinkled some crushed red pepper on it and stirred it in. Next I emptied one 15-oz can of crushed tomatoes into the frying pan and let it simmer for a few minutes. I also added a little bit of water which I had used to slosh around in the can of tomatoes. I added a little bit of red wine and the basil and oregano, which I had chopped up in a small bowl using scissors. I let the sauce thicken up.

image

Then I prepared my pizza peel with flour and cut off a ball of dough, which I also sprinkled with some flour and gently formed a ball and then began stretching it out a bit. I have a wonderful French rolling pin that I use to get that dough really flat. Once it was to my liking, I spooned some sauce on half of the dough, sprinkled the browned sausage around, and plopped some kalamata olives in there.

image

Then I carefully folded the dough over top of the fixin’s to make a giant clam shell and pinched the edges closed as best I could.

image

And then I popped it into the hot oven for 25 minutes. If you are using a broiler tray, pour a cup of hot water in it to create steam.

I actually made two strombolis; the second one went in about five minutes after the first. I took them out at the same time, so the first one was a bit darker, but both were ready. It was late though, and we shared one and saved the second to have as leftovers…either lunches or maybe we’ll eat it tonight for dinner. They are delicious cold and it’s supposed to be quite warm today, so…we’ll see what we want tonight. We have lots of leftover options!

Anyway, after 25 minutes, we were very hungry.

image

So I cut that sucker open and omg it’s tasty…………………………..

image

Of course you can make this with things other than sausage and olives. You can make it with anything you want!

One thought on “We Don’t Buy Sausage Often, But When We Do

Leave a Reply

