Banana Muffin Pie? Yes, Please!

I had three very brown bananas to use. I didn’t feel like making muffins…I don’t know, sometimes I just don’t feel like putting all those muffin cups into the muffin tin. So I make pie! I’ve done this with a chocolate chip muffin mix I really like, so I decided to try it with my favorite banana muffins, which have a crumb top. So basically, I think I made a banana coffee cake. Whatever it is, it’s delicious.

I followed the recipe I linked to above, except I replaced the egg with flax seed and the butter with coconut oil. Coconut oil can replace butter in recipes 1:1, so it’s easy. To make the flax “egg,” mix 1 tbs finely ground flax seed with 3 tbs water and let it sit for a few minutes to get goopy.

And then just follow the recipe. The cook time was about 15 minutes longer, so the muffin mix with crumb top will stay in the oven for 35 minutes instead of 20. I just checked every five minutes after 20 minutes.

After making my flax egg and setting up my coconut oil to melt, I made my flour mix and my banana mix.

image

And then I mixed the bananas into the flour.

image

I lightly sprayed a glass pie dish with some canola oil and poured my batter into it.

image

In a small bowl, I made my crumb top: 2 tbs flour, 1/4 tsp cinnamon (more than what the recipe calls for), 1/3 cup turbinado sugar (I didn’t have any regular brown sugar), and 1 tbs coconut oil. When the mixture became crumbly, I sprinkled it on top of the banana batter.

image

And then I put it in my pre-heated oven and waited impatiently because it smelled so good. I was very pleased because it came out looking beautiful:

image

I let it cool for a few minutes, and then we tried some.

image

And now I’m going to cut myself a generous piece to take to work with me…

15 thoughts on “Banana Muffin Pie? Yes, Please!

Leave a Reply

