Friday Night Sesame-Crusted Seitan on Crunchy Sesame Slaw

Sorry, folks…I keep falling behind. It’s Monday, but I’m about to tell you what we ate on Friday. I made seitan recently (I made fajitas) and still have plenty to use up. I found this delicious-sounding recipe for sesame-crusted seitan in 1,000 Vegan Recipes (which is where I got the seitan recipe as well) and the recipe suggested serving it over a bed of slaw. I was sold. It sounded fun to make and refreshing to eat. You do need to plan ahead a little bit because the salad needs to be refrigerated some before serving.

I started with the slaw. I combined in a small bowl 1/4 cup tahini, 2 tbs rice vinegar, 1 tbs soy sauce, 1 tbs toasted sesame oil, 1/2 tsp sugar and some salt and pepper. I stirred it well and set it aside. Then I chopped up 3 cups of green cabbage and put it in a bowl, then added a generous handful of shredded carrots, and two chopped green onions. I failed to have any snow peas on hand, so I left them out.

image

I set all that aside in the refrigerator while I prepared the seitan.

First I toasted, cooled, and ground 1/3 cup white sesame seeds. While the seeds cooled, I sliced my seitan into strips.

imageimage

After grinding the seeds, I put them in a pie plate and added 1/3 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt and some pepper. The recipe says to put 1/2 of soy milk in a dish to dip the seitan in, but my seitan was already quite wet and I thought 1/2 cup was excessive. I put a small amount in a small dish with plans to add more if I needed it. I didn’t need it. In fact, I threw some out, which is what I was avoiding doing.

While olive oil heated in my skillet, I dunked each slice of seitan in the milk and put it in the dish with the sesame mixture. I pushed them all around to get them good and covered, then added them to the hot oil to get brown and crispy.

imageimage

I turned them over once, sometimes twice and when they looked like this, I decided they were done:

image

I put them on a plate with paper towel to drain while I got my slaw out of the refrigerator and dressed it. After I tossed it with the dressing, I sprinkled some more toasted sesame seeds on top (I had some pre-toasted seeds on hand).

image

I put some in individual bowls, topping it with the crispy seitan.

image

I loved it right away and was excited for seconds. The mister was not totally sure about it, but told me it grew on him as he ate it and it seemed that he definitely liked it quite a lot by the end of the meal. We finished all the seitan but had some slaw leftover. I ate it Saturday for lunch. It kept quite well in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

