Favorites: Manakish and Falafel

I’ve posted about each of these before, but I did the falafel differently this time. Previously I tried Mark Bittman’s falafel, which I wrote about here. They were kind of a lot of work and were too dry for my taste when I baked them. I fried up the leftovers and they were better. But a friend left me a comment about how easy it was to make falafel with garbanzo bean flour following the Bob’s Red Mill recipe.

So that is what I did last night. I didn’t know what garlic granules were, though, so I just used garlic powder. These were ridiculously easy to make: Mix the dry ingredients, stir in the lemon juice and hot water, let it sit for ten minutes, then fry them up!

imageimage

They do look a little funny, but they tasted good. I fried them while I heated the oven for the manakish, which you might remember from such posts as “Sorry Manny. No Cauliflower, Only Manakish.”

While the falafel drained on a papertowel on a plate on top of the hot oven (my stove is from 1954, I can actually keep things warm on top of it), I rolled out the dough for the manakish, smeared it with a zaatar and olive oil mixture, and baked it for ten minutes.

image

While the manakish baked, I whipped up a lemon tahini dressing for the falafel. I used this recipe from Culicurious. Except I kind of eyeballed the measurements and tasted as I went along. Then I sampled one of the falafel dipped in the sauce. It was quite tasty and tangy!

I decided to put the falafel on whole romaine lettuce leaves. The crunchy lettuce was easy to cut with a fork and wrap around the patties. I’ll say, it was a pretty delicious meal.

image

5 thoughts on “Favorites: Manakish and Falafel

  1. Have always stayed away from making my own felafel because I don’t have a deep fryer. But the Bob’s Red Mill recipe looks great! This is definitely going on my list.

    • This was reasonably good…I can get better felafel at a restaurant, but this was good enough that I will make it again. I want to get some pickled radishes, though. πŸ™‚
      Did I spell felafel wrong throughout my post?!

      • There is no “wrong” in transliterated spelling! I just write it the way it sounds to me, in Lebanese. Just look at the myriad ways shawarma is spelled on resto signs.
        I’m pretty sure pickles are easy to make. Will inquire πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

