Spicy Experiments

I was in an odd mood last night and wanted to make something samosa-inspired. I used to have a recipe for a “samosa-quinoa bowl,” but I couldn’t find it. I will have to search for it online. I was going to replace the quinoa with rice and the peas with chick peas. Instead, I looked in a couple of cookbooks for spice combination ideas, and made my own thing up. It did not resemble samosa filling one bit, not even in flavor. But that’s okay. I just wanted to eat some food that wouldn’t take too long to throw together, would have a strong flavor, and would fill me up. My concoction fulfilled all three goals.

I set up some basmati rice to cook. I chopped some red onion and fresh ginger. I cubed five smallish red potatoes.

image

Then I heated some oil in my wok and added the onions. After a few minutes I put the ginger in there with the spices I had chosen: 4 tsp of my bin bhuna hua garam masala (I probably should have used less), 1 tsp ground coriander, 1/2 tsp turmeric, and 1/4 tsp cayenne.

image

I mixed all that up with the onion and ginger, then added the potatoes. I stirred to coat the potatoes and then I added the chickpeas (I used a big can of them) and did the same. I added 1/2 cup of water and covered it, then turned the heat down when the water was almost gone.

After the rice finished cooking, I turned off the heat and let it sit on the burner for about ten minutes. By then the potatoes were tender, so I turned the heat off and stirred the rice in. Then I dished it up, salted it, and we ate. I wished I had had some fresh cilantro to put on top.

image

It was spicy. I liked it that way. The heat built up slowly, but for me it was tolerable and enjoyable. I think it was almost too hot for mister KBD. Next time, if there is a next time, I will probably leave out the cayenne, or just add a pinch and perhaps find another way to make the flavor more complex. I hope I haven’t offended any Indian cuisine experts with this experiment, and if anyone has any suggestions for me (in addition to telling me to stick to the recipes in my cookbooks), I certainly welcome them. πŸ™‚

 

10 thoughts on “Spicy Experiments

  1. Yeah 4 tsp of garam masala is overpowering πŸ™‚ a suggestion 1:2:1->> chili powder:coriander powder :garam masala. That’s what goes into curries usually. This should work πŸ™‚

  2. You are welcome πŸ™‚ from the pictures above, for that quantity, I would go with a tsp of chili powder, 2 tsp coriander powder, a tsp of garam masala. You know what you could do, get spices like channa masala, Shahi paneer masala and just add that. It would be a great start. What you have made looks delicious. πŸ™‚

  3. Yeah, four teaspoons of garam masala is a lot. (Sounds yummy, but in actuality I suspect I’d have found both the cayenne and the theoretical cilantro problematic.)

  4. Pingback: Spicy Experiments Redux | The Kitchen Billets-Doux

Leave a Reply

