Apologies and Robin Robertson’s Sesame Soba Noodles

First, I apologize for my absence. I know at least two people have been irritated about that. 🙂

But I have been taking pictures of most food I have been making so that I can get caught up. Our household has been going through a schedule shift and I just haven’t been able to keep up with posting. To not waste any more time, I will start quickly with these delicious Japanese noodles I made the other night. They involve snow peas and I know of one person who is waiting for this recipe because she is getting even more snow peas in her CSA box this week. I apologize in advance because I didn’t take pictures of the process of making this dish, but it’s pretty straightforward. You can add tofu to this dish if you like; it’s what I did, so I’ll explain how I did it.

Bring a pot of water to a boil and cook 1 package of soba noodles until tender. These noodles are much quicker to cook than semolina; it only takes 4 or 5 minutes. You’ll need to stir a few times. While waiting for the water to boil, start chopping your veggies. The recipe in 1,000 Vegan Recipes calls for bok choy, but I had half a head of green cabbage that needed to be used, so I shredded 3 cups of that instead. Put that in a biggish bowl, then halve and thinly slice a medium yellow onion or the equivalent (I buy really huge onions) and then thinly slice a couple of medium-sized carrots. Add these to the bowl of cabbage. They will all go into your wok/skillet at the same time.

When the soba noodles are tender, drain them well and then toss them with 1 tbs toasted sesame oil in either a large bowl or the pot you cooked them in (I wanted to save dishes, so I just put them back in the pot they cooked in) and set aside.

Heat a couple tbs of canola (or similar) oil in your wok or skillet. If you are using tofu, here is how I prepared it (it’s just a suggestion). I sliced 1/2 lb of extra firm tofu into rectangles. I added this in one layer before I stir fried the veggies. While the tofu was frying, I trimmed 1 1/2 cups snow peas and finely chopped about 2 tsp fresh ginger. I turned the tofu over, and when both sides were golden, I removed the slices to a paper towel on a plate to drain.

Then I continued with my veggies. First add the cabbage, onion, carrot and snow peas and stir-fry over medium-high heat until they are softened. Then add the ginger, tofu if using, and 3 tbs soy sauce (I used tamari) and stir fry for a couple more minutes to incorporate the ginger and soy sauce. Then add the cooked soba, continuing to stir-fry until it is combined and heated through.

Dish it up and sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds! YUM!

image

13 thoughts on “Apologies and Robin Robertson’s Sesame Soba Noodles

  1. Cabbage! I also got a 7.3 lb giant cabbage. This looks very similar to what I did with my bok choy except with garlic instead of onion and without the sesame products. (I actually had the snow peas steamed on the side with it every time I ate because I decided they should have been in it in the first place hehe). I need to use the other half of my noodles, so I will do this, minus tofu.

    • haha…i bet shrimp would work well if you want that extra protein in the dish (instead of tofu) or just make it without. 🙂

      you can make many things out of that giant cabbage!! in fact, check 660 Curries for cabbage and i’ll help you out with anything that’s weird-sounding.

  2. Hmmm shrimp is a good idea. Meghan was right….I found sesame seeds right in the middle of the McCormick spices.
    That stupid cabbage is taking up to much room in the fridge right now! I am going to measure it. haha

  3. Cabbage is always an awkward shape in the fridge, I think. I have more fights with that vegetable, putting it away…

  4. mmmm and like the addition of ginger. I’ve been looking for soba noodle recipes with cabbage and sesame. Great timing! I may use napa cabbage. Also like the idea of shrimp.

Leave a Reply

