Your Brunch Tomorrow: Easy Roast Vegetable Vegan Frittata

I’m sharing this with you Saturday morning so that you’ll have time to get your ingredients and plan. You want to eat this tomorrow while you laze around watching your Sunday morning television programs or Wimbledon. This frittata recipe based on the one in 1,000 Vegan Recipes is super easy, but takes some time to put together and dirties a few dishes. It’s totally worth it though.

First thing you’re going to do is roast some vegetables. I roasted 2 potatoes, 1 red pepper, sweet onions and at the end decided to add spinach to the mix. I chopped them up into little pieces, except the onions, which I decided to slice. I honestly wasn’t sure if I was making way too much vegetable mix, but in the end it was the perfect amount.

image

I preheated my oven to 425. I put my chopped veggies (except the spinach) in a big glass casserole with some oil and salt and pepper. Sorry, I forgot to take a picture. The vegetables roasted for about twenty minutes, but I thought they should stay in longer, which is when I added the spinach.

image

I returned the dish to the oven for about ten more minutes.

image

While the vegetables were roasting, I made the “egg” batter. I put 1lb firm tofu into my food processor with 2 tbs nutritional yeast, 1 tbs soy sauce, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp black pepper.

image

I processed the mixture until it was smooth and then transferred it to a bowl. When the roasted veggies were ready, I added them to the batter and mixed it all together really well.

image

I lightly oiled a pie pan and spread the mixture out evenly.

image

I baked it for about 30 minutes, until the center had set.

image

It needed to cool for ten minutes, so then I put together the rest of our brunch. I recently got a juicer, so on this frittata morning I made peach blueberry juice, and coffee.

image

The juice was fabulous and the frittata tasted just as amazing as it smelled. This is kind of a torture to make because it smells so good throughout the whole the process. But then you get to eat it! And depending how many people you are serving, you will have leftovers which heat up well in the oven. We had it again the next day with sausage and bagels. I bravely tried a new (to me) vegan sausage that did not exist the last time I tried eating vegan sausage. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked my Field Roast Apple Sage Sausage and it paired really well with the frittata. I’ve been advised such sausage is easy to make at home, so it’s on my to-do list. In the meantime, Field Roast has totally normal ingredients and does not seem to be overly processed. Also: TASTY.

Bon Appetit!

image

 

4 thoughts on “Your Brunch Tomorrow: Easy Roast Vegetable Vegan Frittata

  1. It all looks and sounds delicious and impressive for guests. Did Manny or Ernesto help this time? Oh yeah no broccoli so I guess it wouldn’t be Manny helping.

Leave a Reply

