Marcus Samuelsson’s Potato-Lentil Dumplings with Plum Chutney

This post is for my mom! πŸ™‚

It’s hard to believe, but I am trying very hard to come up with a new schedule for posting things. New kitty, new work schedule, online class–all of these at once were harder for me to incorporate into my schedule than I had anticipate. ANYWAY. Here is an amazing meal I made recently. It was a lot of work. This is not weeknight cooking, although leftovers are great for weeknights!

These dumplings are kind of samosa-y, but not the same shape. I had to make special butter for using as an ingredient in the dough, the dough itself, filling, and chutney. I started with the spiced butter. I can’t have butter, so I spiced some Earth Balance. It seemed to have worked fine. I also cut the recipe in half since I wasn’t going to need a huge amount for the dough recipe. I melted 1/2 lb of the Earth Balance in a saucepan over low heat and then added 1/4 of a medium red onion, chopped; 1/2 a garlic clove, minced; 1.5 inches of fresh ginger, finely chopped; 1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds; 1/2 tsp ground cumin; 1/2 tsp cardamom seeds; 1/2 tsp dried oregano; 1/4 tsp turmeric; and 4 basil leaves.

image

I let it cook for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, then let it stand before straining.

image

Then I made the chutney. The original recipe is for quince chutney, but Samuelsson recommended plums as a substitute if quince were not available. I got plums.

image

First I heated 4 tbs olive oil in a big pot over medium heat and added 2 shallots, sliced; 1 garlic clove, minced; and a 1-inch piece of ginger, finely chopped. I sauteed them until the shallots were translucent and then added a couple of serrano peppers (the recipe actually uses 1 Scotch bonnet chili), finely chopped; 2 tsp mustard seeds; 1 tsp garam masala (I used one I had mixed previously and that smelled good to me for mixing with apples and plums); and 1 1/2 tbs brown sugar and 1 tbs honey. I stirred this constantly for a couple of minutes.

image

Then I added 4 plums that I had cut into cubes and 2 apples, cored and chopped (the recipe calls for Granny Smith but I think I had a couple of smaller tart red apples on hand); 1/2 cup white wine vinegar; 1/2 cup red wine (I used chianti); 2 thyme springs; and the zest of one lime. It cooked for about 20 minutes, then I removed it from the heat and let it cool before removing the thyme springs and folding in lime juice and 1/2 tsp salt.

image

Then I took a break!

After a break, I made the filling. I put the equivalent of one baking potato (I had yukon gold taters), chopped up; 1 serrano chili, chopped; some onion, chopped; 1 garlic clove, chopped; and 1/2 tsp ground turmeric into a large pot and covered with water to boil for about 20 minutes. Then I added 1/4 cup red lentils and let it boil until the lentils were soft and falling apart and the potatoes were tender. Then I mashed everything up. I forgot to add parsley and basil.

image

While the potatoes and lentils cooked, I made the dough. I toasted 1/2 tsp of freshly ground cardamom in a small saute pan over medium-high heat for about 30 seconds. Then I sifted it with 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 tsp salt. I made a well in the middle and slowly poured in 1/4 cup of the spiced butterΒ  and 1 cup of water, then incorporated everything with my fingers. I kneaded it on my floured pizza peel until it was smooth.

image

The dough ball then went into a bowl for ten minutes to rest, covered with some plastic wrap. After that, I kneaded it for a couple of more minutes and then cut it into 16 pieces.

image

I rolled each one out and put some filling in the center, then folded it closed and pinched it tight using a fork.

image

Each dumpling got fried, then transferred to the oven for ten minutes.

image

It was quite a production. I was hot, hungry, and tired. But putting the chutney on the dumplings and eating them made the whole crazy afternoon worth it.

image

I don’t think this picture even does the meal justice. You’ll just have to trust me that it was amazingly delicious, but could have been even more so had I not forgotten the parsley and basil in the filling mix. I hope this was worth the wait! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Marcus Samuelsson’s Potato-Lentil Dumplings with Plum Chutney

Leave a Reply

