Robin Robertson’s Donburi

Apologies again for failing so miserably at posting regularly. I am making a special effort this morning! I’m sharing this for an online food friend who wants to try making it at home. I hope she does, because I want to know what she thinks of it. I have never ordered this at a restaurant, so I have no idea how it compares.

I also apologize for a lack of photos of the process. I just wasn’t thinking about taking a bunch of photos when I made it the other night. I wanted to get it made and into my belly!

So what is this dish? In 1,000 Vegan Recipes, Robin Robertson describes it as Japanese street food. It’s typically made with meat, vegetables, and/or eggs, but Robertson has created a delicious animal-free version with edamame, shiitake mushrooms, and tofu. It’s a deeply satisfying dish and has become one of my favorite quick comfort foods and I love taking leftovers to work for lunch.

image

First thing to do is cook 1 cup of shelled edamame in boiling water for about five minutes. I use frozen but fresh works too if you have it. Drain it and set aside. Rinse your pot for making rice of your choice. I use basmati because it’s my favorite. I realize it’s not Japanese. Ha. Anyway, set the rice up to cook while you make the donburi.

Then mince a medium yellow onion, slice 10 shiitake mushroom caps into strips, grate or finely chop 1 tsp fresh ginger, mince 3 green onions (include the green parts! Lots of nutrition in there!), and have 8 ozs firm tofu ready to crumble. You will also need 2 tbs soy sauce, some sesame oil, and toasted sesame seeds for garnish.

Heat a tbs of canola (or similar) oil in a large skillet or wok over medium heat. Add the onion and cover. Let it cook until it’s tender, then add the mushrooms and cook uncoveredĀ  for about five minutes longer. Stir in the ginger and green onions. Crumble in the tofu and add the soy sauce. Mix it up well and let it cook for about five minutes. Add the edamame and cook for a few more minutes until the edamame is heated through.

Then the best part: dish up your rice and top with the edamame mixture. Drizzle sesame oil on and garnish with the sesame seeds. And then EAT IT.

image

2 thoughts on “Robin Robertson’s Donburi

  1. Loved this recipe. I added chicken instead of tofu and used green beans instead of edamame beans since I didn’t have any at that time. Delicious! Thanks, Bibliophotic!

Leave a Reply

