Experiments in Baked Tofu

This is kind of embarrassing to admit, but I had never baked tofu before. I decided to give it a try, but I was seeing different baking times and temperatures along with a whole lot of delicious-sounding marinade ideas. So I decided to make up my own thing.

I combined some tamari, sesame oil, and grated ginger (sorry, no measurements! I just poured and smelled) and then let some slices of extra firm tofu marinate in it for about 30 minutes. I preheated the oven to 350-degrees. Then I put some parchment paper in a brownie pan and set the tofu slabs in it, poured the marinade over them, and sprinkled them with sesame seeds.

image

I baked them for an hour and after letting them cool, put them in the refrigerator to use on sandwiches the next day for lunch.

I had a couple of striata rolls from one of my favorite bakeries that I used for the sandwich bread. I made a dressing with yellow miso, tamari, water, and some lemon juice. Again, I just eyeballed/sniffed it. I put the baked tofu on the bread and smeared the dressing over them and then added arugula. It sure made a pretty (funny) sandwich:

image

We each took one for lunch. We both agreed the flavors were good, but unfortunately the tofu was overdone. Next time I will try baking at a higher temperature for a shorter time. And maybe slice thicker slices of tofu. Anyone with experience baking tofu, feel free to share your tips!

2 thoughts on “Experiments in Baked Tofu

  1. Sounds tasty. I’ve baked tofu before and enjoy the texture this way better than other ways. I found that I had to turn it part way through to get that texture to both sides. I think I baked it about 10-15 minutes/side. It’s been awhile. I also like cubing it, then baking and using the cubes in salads.

Leave a Reply

