Shutdown in the Kitchen Day 2: Banana Cream Pie

My secret ingredient yesterday was bananas, as in you’ve all gone bananas (Congress, not you guys. Unless you are members of Congress, then you too).

image

And I decided that when life hands you bananas, you should make banana cream pie. And if you can’t have dairy, then you should make vegan banana cream pie. I followed the recipe from Skye Michael Conroy’s (aka the the Gentle Chef) book The Non-Dairy Formulary: Vegan Cuisine for the Ethical Gourmet. It turned out fantastic. My one critique is that I think the pie crust (I made his graham cracker crust) should have sugar in it. So next time I am using sugar in my crust. The whipped cream I used is coconut milk whipped cream.

I can’t wait to eat more of this tonight.

image

7 thoughts on “Shutdown in the Kitchen Day 2: Banana Cream Pie

  1. Wow, that looks really good. Back in the day I made banana cream pie with a regular pie crust. I never thought of doing a graham cracker crust. I think I would like that. I see you are making good use of your time off.

Leave a comment