Roasted Thelma Sanders Squash with Pomegranate Seeds and Vegan Goat Cheese

Apologies for the absence…it has been um, you know, really awesome getting back to work after the three-ish week government shutdown. Anyway, I have not been starving in my absence. I have been cooking and making lots of cheese!

Last night I decided to test out the amazing cultured cashew goat cheese I made by using it in this Indican-spiced Winter Squash recipe.

Of course the recipe means to use the dairy version, but I wanted to try the goat cheese I made using the the Non-Dairy Formulary.

You can see more of the cheese over at Why Bother.

The recipe was really simple to put together. I used some binh bhua garam masala because it smelled nice and I thought it would go nicely with the squash. Thelma Sanders is an heirloom variety that I had never heard of before it arrived in my produce box (I use a CSA-type service). It was very tasty.

I also seeded a pomegranate for the first time ever. Manny thought this was a terrific way to spend the evening in the kitchen. He happily cleaned up any seed that fell on the floor.

image

After the squash roasted, I put the slices on plates and sprinkled freshly chopped parsley, some pomegranate seeds, and the “goat cheese” on top. It was really delicious. The only thing I would do differently is leave the squash in the oven just a little longer. Some pieces were more caramelized, and therefore more delicious, than others. I would also be more generous with the cheese. Anyway: YUM.

image

2 thoughts on “Roasted Thelma Sanders Squash with Pomegranate Seeds and Vegan Goat Cheese

  1. Yes, I’ve been wondering what kind of squash that is too. And what you made looks and sounds delicious and I’d love to try the “Goat Cheese” sometime!

Leave a comment